REWIND: The New Music Industry's Week In Review
NEWS BRIEF: Could iRadio Hurt Big Music?, YouTubers Revolt, KasiMP3, Sivers Launches & More

What The Music Industry Can Expect At Today's Apple WWDC Announcement

image from cdn.iphoneheat.comLive updates start at 1PM ET via @hypebot

Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference has always been anchored by major announcements, and today's 2013 gathering will follow in that tradition. The cornerstone of today's announcements will be iOS7, a sleeker mobile operating system.  According to several reports, it's Apple's most radical re-design since the iPhone debuted in 2007.

We've confirmed reports that Apple has all of the major recorded music and publishing licences that it needs to launch iRadio today. It's not clear that Apple even intends to call the new service iRadio. That's a image from edibleapple.comname given to it by the press. But it is certain that it will be an ad supported streaming service more like Pandora than Spotify. Music industry insiders are also excited by the addition of frictionless song purchases via iTunes. 

Apple CEO Tim Cooks' keynote begins at 10 AM PT, 1 PM ET and 6PM in London. We'll be tweeting live news and updates via @hypebot, and follow up with a full roundup post.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Comments