Conventions & Awards

YouTube Music Awards Announces Nominees [See The Full List]

image from www.blogcdn.comYouTube has announced the nominees for their first every YouTube Music Video Awards. The usual selection of platinum sellers (Katy Perry, Laday Gaga, Justin Beiber, et al) are joined by relative unknowns that have found massive audiences on YouTube. That could actually make this awards show interesting. To cast a vote, users watch the official nomination videos (here at and share them on Google+, Facebook and Twitter. There's a full list of nominees after the jump and co-host Reggie Watts offers a "how to vote" video.

The nominees for the 2013 YouTube Music Awards in each category are:

Video of the Year (YouTube videos with the most fan engagement):

Miley Cyrus, “We Can’t Stop”; Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj), “Beauty and a Beat”; Lady Gaga, “Applause”; One Direction, “Best Song Ever”; PSY, “Gentleman”; Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) “Same Love”; Girls’ Generation “I Got A Boy”; Demi Lovato, “Heart Attack”; Selena Gomez, “Come & Get It”; Epic Rap Battles Of History, “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney.”

Artist of the Year (the most watched, shared, liked, and subscribed-to artists): 

Eminem, Epic Rap Battles of History, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Nicki Minaj, One Direction, PSY, Rihanna, Taylor Swift

Response of the Year (the best unofficial fan remix, parody or response video):

Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) “Mirrors”; Jayesslee, “Gangnam Style”; Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, “Radioactive”; ThePianoGuys, “Titanium/Pavane”; Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX), “I Knew You Were Trouble”

YouTube Phenomenon (songs that generated the most unofficial fan videos):

  ”Diamonds,” ”Gangnam Style,” ”Harlem Shake,” ”I Knew You Were Trouble,” ”Thrift Shop”

YouTube Breakthrough (the artists with biggest growth in views and subscribers): 

Kendrick Lamar, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Naughty Boy, Passenger, Rudimental

Innovation of the Year (the most creative video innovations with the most views, likes, shares and comments); 

Anamanaguchi, “Endless Fantasy”; Atoms For Peace, “Ingenue”; Bat For Lashes, “Lilies”; DeStorm, “See Me Standing”; Toro Y Moi, “Say That”

    The winners will be announced live on YouTube on November 3rd.  

    Who are you voting for?  

    What artist or video was overlooked?


    Enhanced by Zemanta

    Share on:

    1 Comment

    1. I think this is a great idea even though I’m not sure who to vote for. I like the category ‘Innovation of the Year’, it’s interesting. Looking forward to see the winners.

    Comments are closed.