Twitter Username You’ve Always Wanted May Be Available Soon.
Twitter is sending warning emails to owners of inactive accounts: sign in by December 11th, or your account will be deleted and your username will be available to others.
Any account that hasn’t signed in for more than six months will receive the email alert, according to The Verge. Account removals “will happen over many months – not just on a single day,” said a Twitter spokesperson.
That means that all of the dormant usernames will not be available on a single day either.
A Twitter spokesperson said:
“As part of our commitment to serve the public conversation, we’re working to clean up inactive accounts to present more accurate, credible information people can trust across Twitter. Part of this effort is encouraging people to actively log-in and use Twitter when they register an account, as stated in our inactive accounts policy.
We have begun proactive outreach to many accounts who have not logged into Twitter in over six months to inform them that their accounts may be permanently removed due to prolonged inactivity.”