Indie Labels

Indie Trade Group A2IM Names New Board

A2IM, the American Association of Independent Music, has announced the results of their 2010 Board of  Directors elections. Joining the board are:

  • Eric Brown (VP Business Affairs, Sub Pop) 
  • Dave Hansen (General Manager, Epitaph)
  • Tom Silverman (CEO/Founder, Tommy Boy)

Silimage from www.greenarrowradio.comverman returns to the A2IM board after time off due to A2IM term limits, while Eric Brown and Dave Hansen are beginning their first term.  The board also includes Concord Music Group President Glen Barros;  Beggars
Group CEO Lesley Bleakley; tinyOGRE Entertainment COO Jim Cooperman;
Razor & Tie Executive Vice President Dan Hoffman; Lookout Records
co-owner Molly Neuman: Kill Rock Stars President Portia Sabin. Because of term limits Bruce Iglauer (Alligator Records), Doug Keogh (Roadrunner Records), and Glenn Morrow (Bar/None) stepped down this year.

Some thoughts from the new boards members:

Eric Brown (VP Business Affairs, Sub Pop): "It's important for smaller labels to strengthen their network connections and have access to A2IM's services and advocacy."

Dave Hansen (General Manager, Epitaph): "I look forward to working with the A2IM membership to be an advocate for independent labels."

Tom Silverman (CEO/Founder, Tommy Boy): "In its first 5 years, A2IM has succeeded in changing the perception and position of the independent label community in the music business… Any independent label that is not represented by A2IM is doing themselves and the sector a real disservice."

Share on: