Conventions & Awards

Music’s Webby Awards 2014 Winners: Pandora, De La Soul, Jay Z, Dylan, Pharrell and More

image from www.webbyawards.comThe Webby Awards announced today that Pandora and musicians De La Soul, Jay Z, Pharrel, Bob Dylan and Arcade Fire were among the 2014 winners. Hosted by Patton Oswalt, this year's awards show at will be available to watch On Demand at beginning at 9 a.m. ET on Tuesday, May 20th. 

Music's winners include:

  • image from www.webbyawards.comWebby Artist of the Year: De La Soul will be honored with a Special Achievement Award for their bold decision to bypass restrictive copyright regulations regarding sampling by offering their entire discography for free download and showing its fans that hearing the music is more important than paying for it.
  • Jay Z's Magna Carter Holy Grail App won the Webby Award in the Best Music App category.
  • Beyonce won the People's Voice Award in the Celebrity Fan Category for
  • Pharell Williams won both  Webby and People's Voice Award in the Best Use of Interactive Video category for his "24 Hours of Happy."
  • Arcade Fire won the Webby and People's Voice Award for "Just a Reflektor" in the NetArt Websites category and a Webby in the Best Music (Film and Video) category.
  • Bob Dylan won the Webby Award in the Best Video Editing category for his "Like a Rolling Stone Interactive Music Video."
  • Jimmy Kimmel won the Webby Award in the Best Viral Video category for his "Worst Twerk Fail EVER: Girl Catches Fire Prank."

Pandora won 3 Webby Awards: Best Music Websites (People's Voice Award), Best Mobile Media Streaming Service (People's Voice Award), Best Mobile Music App (People's Voice Award)


Share on: