Music Business

Songwriters Hall Of Fame Names 2018 Inductees

image from celebrityaccess.comSongwriters Bill Anderson, Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown & James “JT” Taylor  of Kool & The Gang, Steve Dorff, Jermaine Dupri, Alan Jackson, John Mellencamp and Allee Willis have been announced as 2018 inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame.


image from

New members will all be inducted at the Songwriters Hall of Fame 49th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner, which will take place on June 14th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“The 2018 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a prodigious representation of creators of cross-genre hits, certain to resonate with everyone,” said SHOF co-chairs Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff and president/CEO Linda Moran. “Each year, the slate of songwriters we induct is more diverse and illustrative of the history and contributions that we strive to acknowledge and honor. We could not be more excited to preside over this year’s event and to give these songwriters their due respect.”

Established in 1969, by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond, the Songwriters Hall of Fame recognizes the accomplishments of songwriters who create the music that makes the entire industry possible. Each year the Hall of Fame inducts a slate of songwriters voted on by the membership at an Awards Gala that has been recognized by the music industry and the media as the most important of the year.

Past inductees into the organization include Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Brian Wilson, Elvis Costello, Neil Diamond, Carole King, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi, and Tom Petty among many others.

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,500 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.

Share on: