Polaris Music Prize Announces 2012 Short List

image from www.google.comCanada's 2012 Polaris Music Prize Short List was announced today at a ceremony in Toronto.  The artists include:

  • Cadence Weapon – Hope In Dirt City
  • Cold Specks – I Predict A Graceful Expulsion
  • Drake – Take Care


  • Kathleen Edwards – Voyageur
  • Feist – Metals
  • Fucked Up – David Comes To Life
  • Grimes – Visions
  • Handsome Furs – Sound Kapital
  • Japandroids – Celebration Rock

The Polaris Music Prize is judged on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales. Past winners are Arcade Fire, Karkwa, Fucked Up, Patrick Watson, Caribou and Final Fantasy. 

The winner will be announced on September 24th by 11 grand jury, chosen from the larger jury pool of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers will be sequestered at the Concert Hall at Bell Media's Masonic Temple studios to vote for the winner.

The event will stream live on Muchmusic.com and will be broadcast exclusively on SiriusXM (Sirius channels 151 and 152; XM channel 151) and CBC Radio 3.  Highlights from the gala will air in a one-hour special, exclusively on MuchMusic, on Saturday, September 29th at 10pm ET.

Share on: