Bandsintown_For Artist_Banner_6-11-19-01-01

NEWS BRIEF: iTunes Growth Slows, Twitter #Music Chief Exits, SoundCloud Wins Top EU Award & More
Changing Its Name To Won't Save

A2IM Announces Indie Artist & Label 2013 LIBBY Awards Nominees

image from content.bandzoogle.comThe American Association Of Independent Music (A2IM) has announced the nominees for the 2nd Libera Awards (The “LIBBYs”), to be held June 20 at NYC’s Highline Ballroom. The LIBBY's celebrate Independent labels, artists and services; and are voted on solely by members of the indie community. ATO Records & Dualtone Music Group earned the most label nominations this year. Bandzoogle, PledgeMusic, Rdio and Spotify were among the top nominees from music tech.

Independent Album of the Year (sponsored by Spotify)
• ‘Boys & Girls’ – Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)
• ‘Allah-Las’ – Allah-Las (Innovative Leisure)
• ‘Bloom’ – Beach House (Sub Pop)
• ‘Shields’ – Grizzly Bear (Warp Records)
• ‘Celebration Rock’ – Japandroids (Polyvinyl Records)
• ‘The Heist’ – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore)
• ‘Babel’ – Mumford & Sons (Glassnote Records)
• ‘RED (Deluxe Edition)’ – Taylor Swift (Big Machine Records)
• ‘The Lumineers’ – The Lumineers (Dualtone Music Group)
• ‘Coexist’ – The xx (XL Recordings/Young Turks)

Listen to the Spotify Album of the Year Playlist

Independent Label of the Year Award – 5 employees or less worldwide (sponsored by The Orchard)
• Bar/None Records
• Daptone Records
• Dualtone Music Group
• Frenchkiss Records
• Ghostly International
• Kill Rock Stars
• Third Man Records

Independent Label of the Year Award – 6 employees or more worldwide (sponsored by ADA)
• Anti Records
• ATO Records
• Big Machine Records
• Concord Music Group
• Glassnote Records
• Hopeless Records
• Sub Pop
• XL Recordings

Up and Comer Award (sponsored by eMusic)celebrating the next Independent label superstar artist; to qualify artist must have total career sales not exceeding 5000 full length albums or 25,000 tracks (combined) as of Feb. 17, 2013
• Air Dubai (Hopeless Records)
• BOY (Nettwerk)
• LEOGUN (Yamaha Entertainment Group)
• Mikal Cronin (Merge Records)
• MNDR (Ultra Music)
• The Virginmarys (Wind-up Records)

Video of the Year
• “Hold On” – Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)
• “For Baltimore” – All Time Low (Hopeless Records)
• “Dirty Money” – Antibalas (Daptone Records)
• “Kill Your Heroes” – AWOLNATION (Red Bull Records)
• “My Love Is Real” – Divine Fits (Merge Records)
• “Wait” – M83 (Mute)
• “Thrift Shop” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore)

Best Sync Usage (sponsored by Getty Images Music)for the most creative or most impactful use of Independent music in a film/TV/ad campaign
• “Ebb Away” – …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead (Century Media/Superball) in Fox Surf by Tim Scanlin
• “Always Alright” – Alabama Shakes (ATO Records) in Silver Linings Playbook by Susan Jacobs
• “Sail” – AWOLNATION (Red Bull Records) in BMW – Feeling Remains campaign (Olympics premiere) by Kirshenbaum Bond Senecal + Partners
• “Can’t Win ‘Em All” – Hanni El Khatib (Innovative Leisure) in Audi (Super Bowl Commercial) by Agoraphone
• “Outro” – M83 (Mute/Caroline) in Red Bull “Gives You Wings” commercial by Tonya Puerto/EMI & Red Bull
• “Speaking Japanese” – Shiny Toy Guns (Five Seven Music) in Virgin America ‘Game Changer’ ad campaign
• “Ho Hey” – The Lumineers (Dualtone Music Group) in Bing by Susan Schwartz

Music Supervisor of the Year (sponsored by Silva Screen Music Group)for the music supervisor/licensing person who was especially supportive of Independent music labels
• Alexandra Patsavas (Chop Shop Music)
• Frankie Pine (Whirly Girl Music)
• Nora Felder (Picture Tunes)
• Randall Poster (Search Party Music/Posterboy Inc.)
• Susan Schwartz (Platinum Rye)
• Thomas Golubic (SuperMusicVision)

Light Bulb Awardcelebrating the most innovative/creative marketing campaign by an Independent label or artist
• Alabama Shakes – album release campaign (ATO Records)
• Bear in Heaven – slowed-down album stream (Dead Oceans/Hometapes)
• Mumford & Sons – ‘Stopover’ tour (Glassnote Records)
• M83 – sustained album campaign (Mute)
• Brian Eno – ‘LUX’ listening events (Warp Records)
• Yep Roc – Yep Roc 15 Festival (Yep Roc Records)

Hardest Working Artist of the Year (sponsored by Believe Digital)celebrating the Independent label band/artist that worked hardest at their job or was the most instrumental in promoting their music
• Allen Stone (ATO Records)
• Bob Mould (Merge Records)
• Brother Ali (Rhymesayers Entertainment)
• Grimes (4AD)
• Jukebox the Ghost (Yep Roc Records)
• Taylor Swift (Big Machine Records)
• The Lumineers (Dualtone Music Group)

Best Live Act of the Yearcelebrating the Independent label band/artist that had the best live act
• Alabama Shakes (ATO Records)
• AWOLNATION (Red Bull Records)
• Bloc Party (Frenchkiss Records)
• Delta Spirit (Rounder)
• Hatebreed (Razor & Tie)
• M83 (Mute)
• Matt and Kim (FADER Label)
• Ra Ra Riot (Barsuk)

Creative Packaging Award (sponsored by A to Z Media)celebrating the best or most creative packaging – including bundled packages, premium offerings, or artwork/design packaging – from an Independent label or artist in the last 12 months
• “Charmer” – Aimee Mann (SuperEgo Records) by Gail Marowitz & Aimee Mann
• “II” – Bad Books (Triple Crown Records) by Brian Manley & Chris Freeman
• “Until the Quiet Comes” – Flying Lotus (Warp Records) by Stephen Serrato with B+
• “12 Bit Blues” – Kid Koala (Ninja Tune) by Eric San
• “The Disintegration Loops” – William Basinski (Temporary Residence Ltd.) by Jeremy deVine
• “Woody at 100: The Woody Guthrie Centennial Collection” – Woody Guthrie (Smithsonian Folkways) by Fritz Klaetke

21st Century Awardcelebrating the service provider or platform that was most beneficial to Independent labels and artists
• Bandzoogle
• Pandora
• PledgeMusic
• Rdio
• Spotify
• YouTube

"Eligible releases (March 1, 2012 – February 28, 2013) were narrowed down to six nominees per category (or more in the case of a tie) by expert panels including the most knowledgeable tastemakers, programmers, and professional supporters of Independent music."