Conventions & Awards

Warner/Chappell Music Named ASCAP Publisher Of The Year 2016

image from vignette1.wikia.nocookie.netWarner/Chappell Music has been named ASCAP's Music Publisher of the Year 2016, it was announced at last night’s 33rd annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards.

Ascap-logo-650pxIn addition, Ryan McMahon and Benjamin Berger of WCM songwriting trio Captain Cuts were honored with the “Song of the Year” award for co-writing Walk the Moon’s smash hit “Shut Up and Dance” last night by ASACP.

In 2012, Warner/Chappell was named ASCAP’s Music Publisher of the Year for the first time in more than a decade, and the company has now received this prestigious honor in three out of the last five years.

22 WCM songrwiters were given “Most Performed Song Awards” last night by ASCAP:

  • “Bad Blood,” co-written by Kendrick Lamar
  • “Can’t Feel My Face,” co-written by Ali Payami
  • “Centuries,” co-written by Suzanne Vega
  • “Cool for the Summer,” co-written by Ali Payami
  • “Earned It,” co-written by Ahmad Balshe AKA Belly
  • “GDFR,” co-written by Mike Caren, Andrew Cedar & Justin Franks
  • “Heartbeat Song,” co-written by Audra Mae
  • “Here,” co-written by Robert Gerongco
  • “Like I’m Gonna Lose You,” co-written by Justin Weaver
  • “Love Me Harder,” co-written by Ahmad Balshe AKA Belly & Ali Payami
  • “Love Me Like You Do,” co-written by Tove Lo, Ali Payami & Ilya
  • “Riptide,” co-written by James Keogh AKA Vance Joy
  • “See You Again,” co-written by Andrew Cedar, Justin Franks, Dann Hume, Josh Hardy & Phoebe Cockburn
  • “Shut Up and Dance,” co-written by Ryan McMahon & Benjamin Berger of Captain Cuts
  • “Somebody,” co-written by Joe Khajadourian & Alex Schwartz
  • “Style,” co-written by Ali Payami
  • “Talking Body,” co-written by Ludvig Soderberg, Jakob Jerlstrom & Tove Lo
  • “The Hills,” co-written by Ahmad Balshe AKA Belly & Emmanuel Nickerson
  • “Uptown Funk,” co-written by Bruno Mars
  • “What Do You Mean?” co-written by Mason Levy
  • “Want to Want Me,” co-written by Sam Martin
  • “Worth It,” co-written by Priscilla Renea

Share on: