Conventions & Awards

Americana Music Awards Names 2016 Nominees

AmericanaThe Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 15th annual Honors & Awards on Wednesday night at a Washington DC event presented by the musicFIRST Coalition and streamed live on Facebook through NPR Music

The announcement was hosted by The Milk Carton Kids and featured performances by Lucinda Williams, Margo Price and Sierra Hull & Ethan Jodziewicz.
The winners will be announced during the Americana Honors and Awards show on September 21, 2016 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. The program is the capstone event of “AmericanaFest,” the Americana Music Festival and Conference, which runs from September 20-25, 2016.  
A full list of categories and nominees for the
Americana Music Association’s 15th Annual Honors & Awards
Album of the Year
Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb
The Ghosts of Highway 20, Lucinda Williams, Produced by Greg Leisz, Tom Overby and Lucinda Williams
The Very Last Day, Parker Millsap, Produced by Parker Millsap and Gary Paczosa
Traveller, Chris Stapleton, Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton
Artist of the Year
Jason Isbell
Bonnie Raitt
Chris Stapleton
Lucinda Williams
Duo/Group of the Year
Alabama Shakes
Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
Lake Street Dive
The Milk Carton Kids
Tedeschi Trucks Band
Emerging Artist of the Year
Leon Bridges
John Moreland
Margo Price
Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
Song of the Year
“24 Frames” Jason Isbell
“Dime Store Cowgirl” Kacey Musgraves
“Hands Of Time” Margo Price
“S.O.B.”  Nathaniel Rateliff & The Nightsweats
Instrumentalist of the Year  
Cindy Cashdollar
Stuart Duncan
Jedd Hughes
Sara Watkins 
Each year, the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community with six member voted annual awards and with Lifetime Achievement Awards, which will be announced leading up to the event.  

Share on: