Conventions & Awards

Rock & Roll Hall Inducts Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, Notorious B.I.G., T-Rex, John Landau, Irving Azoff

 A socially distanced edition of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony has celebrated its 2020 class which included Depeche Mode, Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, Notorious B.I.G., T-Rex, legendary talent managers Jon Landau and Irving Azoff.

“While this year’s program will be different than those of years past, we look forward to recognizing their impact on the industry, their fans and the next generation of artists,” Joel Peresman, President and CEO of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation said in a statement.

During the induction ceremony, which was available for fans on HBO, late rock icon and Hall of Famer Eddie Van Halen was honored with a tribute led by Guns N’ Roses member Slash.

“Eddie Van Halen was a tremendously gifted musician,” Slash said during the tribute. “His style and his sound were completely unique to him. He had a massive impact on guitar playing. I don’t think there’s anybody that’s picked up the guitar since 1978 that hasn’t been touched in some way by Eddie Van Halen’s influence. I’m going to miss his playing and I’m going to miss him as a friend.”

Guests for the night included Foo Fights founder and frontman Dave Grohl, who opened the show, as well as Luke Bryan, Don Henley, Miley Cyrus, Ringo Starr, Billy Idol, Chris Martin, Bruce Springsteen, and Nancy Wilson, among others.

Share on: